Skip to main content
CCPS Information Locker



What is a School Based Decision Making Council?


The School-Based Decision Making Council (SBDM) consists of three teachers, two parents, the school principal, and an exofficio member.


The school-based decision making process gives parents, teachers, classified staff members, and the principal substantial control over how the school operates. They are charged with the task of finding the most effective ways to achieve the goals set for all students under the Kentucky Education Reform Act (KERA).


The council, advised by the school's staff, makes policies on curriculum, instructional practices, instructional materials, uses of school space, school climate, extracurricular programs and assessment. Teachers and parents serve on one of the standing committees: Curriculum/Instructional Practices, Literacy, School Relations, Technology, and Wellness.


The meetings of the council and its committees are open to the public, and all interested persons are encouraged to attend.


The parent members of the council are selected by parents. The teacher members of the council are elected by majority vote of the school's faculty.



2017-2018 SBDM Council Members

Mandy Hooks, Parent Member

Stacie Merritt, Parent Member

Sara Kukahiko, Teacher Member

Libby George, Teacher Member

Mindy Herran, Teacher Member

Rena Hillyard, Classified Staff Member

Danny Bean, Chairperson


2017-2018 Meetings

The CCPS SBDM Council meets the second Thursday of each month.



2017-2018 SBDM Committees

Curriculum and Instructional Practices

School Relations